The Pacific Island Nation Conference APPENDIXES

List of Participants

Republic of Fiji
Rt. Hon. Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Prime Minister
Hon. Charles Walker, Minister for Information
Republic of Kiribati
Hon. Ieremia T. Tabai, President
Mr. Komeri R. Onorio, Deputy Secretary, Office of the Beretitenti
Mr. Taam Biribo, Assistant Secretary for Foreign Affairs
Federated States of Micronesia
Hon. John H. Haglelgam, President
Mr. Asterio R. Takesy, Deputy Secretary, Department of External Affairs
Papua New Guinea
Rt. Hon. Michael T. Somare, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Hon. Raphael Bele, Member of Parliament
Mr. Anthony Farapo, Foreign Minister's Liaison Officer
Mr. Robert Igara, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Finance and Planning Mr. Gerard Ivarami, Japan Desk Officer of Foreign Affairs
Solomon Islands
Hon. Ezekiel Alebua, Prime Minister
Hon. Robert Bera, Minister of Natural Resources
Mr. Albert Laore, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet
Mr. Warren Paia, Special Secretary to the Prime Minister
Kingdom of Tonga
H. R. H. Crown Prince Tupouto'a, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Defense
Mr. S. T. Taumoepeau-Tupou, Secretary for Foreign Affairs
Rt. Hon. Tomasi Puapua, Prime Minister
Mr. Kelese Kolone, Assistant Secretary for Foreign Affairs
Mr. Laloniu Samuelu, Labour Officer, Office of the Prime Minister
Republic of Vanuatu
Hon. Sethy J. Regenvanu, Minister of Education
Mr. Browney Rueben, First Secretary of the Minister of Trade, Commerce, Cooperatives, Industry and Labour
Western Samoa
Hon. Tuilaepa Sailele, Minister of Finance
Hon. Tuaopepe Fili, Member of Parliament
Hon. Tauauve'a Moli, Member of Parliament
Mr. Terry Toomata, Senior Officer of Foreign Affairs
Cook Islands
Hon. Pupuke Robati, Prime Minister Mr. Tamarii Tutangata, Chief Adviser to the Prime Minister
Geoffrey Miller, Ambassador to Japan
Dr. Alan Thomas, First Secretary, Australian Embassy in Japan
New Zealand
R. J. Gates, Ambassador to Japan
Ms. Vanessa McLean, Second Secretary, New Zealand Embassy in Japan
Republic of Indonesia
Mr. Zainuddin Rahman, Minister Counselor, Embassy of the Republic of Indonesia in Japan
South Pacific Commission
Mr. Jon Jonassen, Director of Programmes
South Pacific Bureau for Economic Cooperation
Mr. Henry F. Naisali, brDirector
Mr. Leo Keke, Legal and Political 0fficer
Pacific Islands Development Programme
Mr. Charles Lepani, Director
Committee for Coordination of Joint Prospecting for Mineral Resources in South Pacific Offshore Areas
Mr. George Kotobalavu, Director
Hon. Tadashi Kuranari, Member of the House of the Representatives (Former Foreign Minister of Japan)
Mr. Ryoichi Sasakawa, Honorary Chairman of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Mr. Setsuya Tabuchi, Chairman of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Mr. Saburo Kawai, President of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation
Mr. Yohei Sasakawa, Trustee of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation

Program of the Pacific Island Nations Conference

August 26 and 27, 1988
Tokyo Prince Hotel, "Providence Hall"
3-3-1 Shiba Koen, Minato-ku, Tokyo
Conference Schedule:
August 26 (Friday)
10:00~10:35 Opening Ceremony
10:00~10:10 Opening Address
10:10~10:15 Message from the Japanese Prime Minister (presented by Hon. Keizou Obuchi, Minister of State, Chief Cabinet Secretary)
10:15~10:20 Election of the Chairman
10:20~10:35 Conference Chairman's Introductory Remarks
10:35~12:30 Session I
Speeches by Representatives of the Participating Countries
12:30~14:00 Luncheon at Sunflower Hall, Tokyo Prince Hotel
14:00~17:15 Session II
Social and Economic Developments of the Participating Countries: Present State and Future Outlook
(Speeches by Representatives of the Participating Countries)
15:30~15:45 Coffee Break at Sunflower White Hall, Tokyo Prince Hotel
19:00~21:00 Dinner at Kasuga-No-Ma-Hall, Hotel 0kura, Hosted by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation
August 27 (Saturday)
9:00~12:10 Session Ill
Relationships between the Participating Countries and Japan,
and Requests for Future Japanese Cooperation (Free Discussion)
12:00~15:40 Free Time
16:00~16:30 Closing Session
Chairman's Summary
Announcement of the Establishment of
the Pacific Island Nations Foundation
17:00~17:50 Press Conference
18:30~20:00 Reception at Ho-o-No-Ma Hall,
Tokyo Prince Hotel Hosted by the Sasakawa Peace Foundation


  • Our Office